Silver Quill

Awards Program for Communication Excellence

sq logo web header.jpg2017 Call for Entries – Now Open!
Extended Deadline, Sunday, July 9, 2017

The IABC  Heritage Region's Silver Quill Program recognizes excellence in business communications in multiple and varied disciplines. Silver Quill Awards are presented to outstanding professionals in our region who have proven that their communication programs effectively furthered the goals of their organizations—boosting revenues, reducing cost and motivating audiences to a desired action.

Call for Entries
    Download the
 Call for Entries interactive PDF to learn more about the 4 divisions and 28 categories.

    Why Enter?
  • Summer deadline, comprehensive evaluations and prompt winner's notification—all timed so entrants receive the judging critique in time to prepare entries for the annual Gold Quill program.
  • All entries receive electronic, detailed evaluations based upon consistent quality standards.
  • Winners of the Silver Quill Awards Program will be honored at the Fall Heritage Region Conference each year.
  • Extended Deadline: Sunday July 9, 2017, to allow more time to enter and craft your expert work plan.
  • Early Bird pricing through Sunday, June 25 to save money.

Eligible  projects for the 2017 program must be implemented, published or  broadcast between January 1, 2016, and the date  of entry. Alternately, if a program began and 2015 and  measurement/evaluation extended into 2016 or 2017—and the project was  not part of a winning entry in the 2016 Silver Quill Awards—you may  enter it in the 2017 program. 

The program is open to members and  non-members of IABC.  The program is open to members and non-members of IABC.  You do not need to enter your local chapter's awards program first,  but, depending on the timing, it is often helpful if you do as you will learn tips to improve your entry

if you are not within the geographic region for IABC Heritage Region (Connecticut, Delaware, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, D.C. and West Virginia), you are welcome to enter our program, but you may prefer to enter the awards program for your region. Please contact Ed Kamrin, Pacific Plains Region at or Mary Francis, Southern Region at for information on those programs.
    What Do I Need to Know About Entering?

  • For full details, divisions and categories, refer to our Call for Entries document. 
  • When you are ready to upload your work samples and work plan, use the award entry platform. After you create your account, remember to select "Heritage Region":


Award recipients will be honored at a reception during the IABC Heritage Region Conference, November 5-7, in Pittsburgh, Penn.

View the 2017 Call for Entries below or download the PDF here

Join Our Silver Quill Committee for 2017

Would you like to volunteer with IABC at the Region Level?  Our Silver Quill Committee will provide you with tremendous opportunities to connect with communicators across the region.  Whether you are a strategist, proofreader, or exceptional organizer, we have plenty of ways to get you involved.  Send an email to Alexandra Hichel, Silver Quill chair, at

    Would You Like to Learn from the Best Communicators?

Become a volunteer evaluator for awards program entries. This opportunity is open to IABC members only. IABC Heritage Region is working with awards chairs from other regions to create a pool of evaluators to reciprocally judge regional entries. To learn more about this initiative, click here.

Become an IABC Member

Join today at


Silver Quill Awards
If you have questions, contact Alexandra Hichel, Heritage Region Silver Quill chair, at

Entry Deadline

Award Entry Resources

The IABC Heritage Region Silver Quill program follows the pattern of the International Gold Quill program. For guidance, you can refer to these Gold Quill templates and reference sheets.

Work Plan Template (Divs 1-3)

Entry Tips (Divisions 1-3)

Score Sheet (Divisions 1-3)

Preview of Online Entry Form (Div. 4)

Entry Tips (Division 4)

Score Sheet (Division 4)

Authorization letter

Other Awards

Gold Quill Awards
The Gold Quill Awards is IABC’s premier program recognizing and fostering excellence in the field of business communication. Learn more...

Fellow Award
The highest honor IABC confers on a member, the Fellow Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the association and the communication profession. Learn more...

Rae Hamlin Award
This award is bestowed annually upon an Accredited Business Communicator (ABC) in recognition of exemplary volunteer service.

Chairman's Award
The IABC chairman annually recognizes one or more members for behind-the-scenes work on the international level.

Viewed 9,041 times